In Loft, access to a cluster is defined by a cluster account. Every user can have one or even multiple accounts for a cluster from your pool of clusters that you connect to Loft. Every one of these clusters can run in a different availability zone or even in a different cloud platform etc. So, you can connect, for example, EKS clusters from AWS and GKE clusters from Google Cloud and then give people access depending on what they need to work with.
Users in Loft do not automatically have access to clusters. To give a user access to a cluster, you need to create an account for this user within the cluster.
Space Creation Settings
If you open the form to create or edit a cluster account, you will see the section "Space Creation Settings" which provides the following options:
- Space Limit to set a maximum number of namespaces for this account
- Timeout for Automatic Sleep Mode to enable automatic sleep mode after a certain period of inactivity
- Enforce Templates to specify templates which will be instantiated when creating a space with this account
- Labels & Annotations to specify metadata which should be set when creating a space3
Deleting an account will also delete:
- all AccountQuotas created for the account
- all spaces owned by the account
- all RBAC objects associated with the account and its spaces
Deletion of these objects will be handled by Kubernetes OwnerReferences.
Loft provides a CRD called ClusterAccountTemplate which allows you to automatically create cluster accounts for users when they are being created or edited.